X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rwong97
    • Aug 2006

B&W XT series speakers + Receiver / Amp - Help for a newbie

Hi all,

Am a complete newbie to the world of audiophiles but am looking to get started... Have recently decided to upgrade from a crap set of Sony speakers / DVD combo to a set of B&W XT4, XT2s, XTC and a PV1 and a new amplifier / receiver + a DVD player.

On the amp / receiver, I was originally looking at the Denon 4306 - however, I got the general sense in the forums that I've read that the XT speakers are a bit hard to drive and that a Rotel 1067 works better. But I do still like the bells and whistles of the Denon (multiple HDMI inputs, ethernet connectivty, etc) and some other forums seem to think that this particular Rotel isn't much better. Been also reading up on getting separates for the speakers and the Rotel 1068 seems like a good pick for its raw power. I know speakers in the same set-up should generally come from the same family - is this true for amps / receivers as well? If I had the cash, would it make sense to get the Denon for its receiver functions AND a Rotel 1068? Not even sure if they can work together? sorry if this is a dumb question! ops:

Also - Any recommendations for a good DVD player to go with this setup? Given how much I might end up spending on the speakers, may not want to get the BEST DVD player out there...

Thanks in advance for any advice on this.
    Last edited by rwong97; 09 August 2006, 06:48 Wednesday.
  • akhter
    • Jun 2005

Originally posted by rwong97
    Hi all,

Am a complete newbie to the world of audiophiles but am looking to get started... Have recently decided to upgrade from a crap set of Sony speakers / DVD combo to a set of B&W XT4, XT2s, XTC and a PV1 and a new amplifier / receiver + a DVD player.